Mickey Eisenberg, MD, FACEP – 2018 Nancy Auer Award Recipient

As an early leader of Emergency Medicine at the University of Washington, Dr. Eisenberg realized that critical resuscitations began prior to patient arrival and continued through the inpatient handoff.  His research and quiet, academic approach helped make Medic One the world leader in Out of Hospital Cardiac Arrest, while expanding Emergency Medicine’s reputation as a critical part of the entire hospital experience.  He is among the first Washington EM mentors to lecture at the National Scientific Assembly and is still trusted by academic and “trench EM Docs” alike for his honesty and positive encouragement to develop and teach the science that is now Emergency Medicine. More.


Balance Billing Legislation Dead for 2018 Session

You did it! Thanks to your phone calls and emails to legislators,  HB 2114 never advanced to a vote in the Senate. The issue certainly will be back next session, and we will call on you again to educate legislators about our position. But, for now, let’s savor this victory.

Thank you WA-ACEP Members!

Physician Wellness Video

WA-ACEP Past President John Matheson, MD, FACEP, ED Chair and Medical Director at Kadlec Regional Medical Center, was recently featured in a TeamHealth video on Physician Wellness. Dr. Matheson offers strategies individuals and practices can employ to reduce burnout. Watch the video.


Pharmacy Commission: Hospital EDs Can Distribute Naloxone

The (Pharmacy Quality Assurance) Commission’s position is that RCW 69.41.095, among other things, authorizes a hospital emergency department, pursuant to practitioner’s prescription, standing order, or protocol, to distribute opioid overdose reversal medication to people at risk of overdose or to first responders, family members, or other persons or entities in a position to assist such at-risk people.”

Read the Jan. 19 Policy Statement – Naloxone Distribution from ED

Emergency Physicians Expose Anthem’s Unlawful Emergency Care Policy with New Video

The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) launched a new video to push back on a dangerous policy by Anthem Blue Cross/Blue Shield (BCBS) to deny coverage for emergency patients in six states, Indiana, Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, New Hampshire and Ohio. If the insurance giant decides your visit to the ER was not an emergency, based on their undisclosed lists of diagnoses, they’ll leave patients with the entire bill.

“Anthem’s policy has deadly serious implications for patients,” said Paul Kivela, MD, FACEP, president of ACEP. “Anthem is risking patients’ lives by forcing them to second guess their medical symptoms before they get to the ER, and some may not go when they need to. As the video explains, people may have identical symptoms but have different diagnoses — one life threatening, one non-urgent. Insurers cannot reasonably expect patients to know the difference.”

The company is using secret lists of pre-determined diagnoses — which Anthem BCBS considers to be “non-urgent” — that may not be covered if the patient goes to the emergency department. In Missouri, the original list of nearly 2,000 diagnoses included “influenza,” — which has killed several people this season — “ovarian cyst” and “blood in the urine,” which can be symptoms of medical emergencies.

In December, Sen. Claire McCaskill, D-MO, representing a state where Anthem implemented this policy, sent a letter to Anthem’s CEO requesting answers and internal documents from the company.

“Patients are not physicians,” said Sen. McCaskill in the letter.  “I’m concerned that Anthem is requiring its patients to act as medical professionals when they are experiencing urgent medical events.”

Learn more at www.faircoverage.org.


Schlicher Receives the 2017 Collin C. Rorrie Award

WA-ACEP Past President Nathan Schlicher, MD, JD, MBA, FACEP received the Collin C. Rorrie Jr Award for Excellence in Health Policy Oct. 28 during ACEP17 in Washington, DC.  The Colin C. Rorrie, Jr, PhD Award for Excellence in Health Policy is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to achieving the health policy objectives of the College and/or who has demonstrated outstanding skills, talent, and commitment as an administrative or political leader.