October 2018

President Column

Dear Colleagues,

It’s that time of year when the weather inevitably turns from sunny skies and warm temperatures to rain and chill, and our departments begin to fill with the first of the URI’s and influenza that will keep us busy through the coming months. At this moment, I would like to review a few recent events and highlight some of those to come in the near future.

Your Washington Chapter was well represented at the just-finished ACEP18 assembly, the celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the founding of our College! There was even a Museum of Emergency Medicine featuring highlights of the history of our specialty, including the first woman president of the College, our own Dr. Nancy Auer. At ACEP Council, our chapter was honored by the re-election of Dr. Chris Kang to a second term on the ACEP Board of Directors, and by the election of Dr. Steve Anderson to the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors! In recognition of the hard work of our Chapter leaders in recent years, the Council awarded our Chapter the Teamwork Award. Washington members served on many committees, presented research, and were featured speakers, including Dr. Jenn Stankus and past president, Dr. Nathan Schlicher. And finally, special recognition must be given to Dr. Anderson, who raised over $3,000 for the Emergency Medicine Foundation by auctioning off the right to clip his pony tail.

In the coming weeks, Washington voters will be heading to the polls in the 2018 elections, which may have great implications for the future of our specialty. In order to ensure our voice is heard clearly in Olympia, the Coffee Club, our state-level bipartisan political action committee raised nearly $43,000. With this we hope to stand forward as leaders in the house of medicine to advocate to protect access to emergency care for our patients and fair payment from insurers who surprise patients with uncovered bills. And advocacy will be needed. Out of network services and balance billing practices remain a key focus of the legislature and will see new bills considered this upcoming session. (If you haven’t donated to the Coffee Club, now would be a great time to do so!) Donate today.

Coming up on Nov. 14 is the 12th annual WA-ACEP Leadership Summit, featuring a variety of national speakers and roundtables on pressing issues at the local levels. And the Summit to Sound statewide conference will be held April 3-5 at the Bell Harbor Conference Center in Seattle. We hope to see you at both of these outstanding events.

It is my honor and privilege to serve as your chapter president this year. We have many challenges, but I draw strength from knowing that you, our members, are the most vital and innovative physicians in the field of medicine. We have accomplished much, as Steve Anderson likes to say, “leading the nation from the upper left-hand corner,” and working together, we will continue that track record of accomplishment going forward.

Thank you,

Liam T. Yore, MD, FACEP

Back to Top

Madigan Wins MedWAR at ACEP18

Congratulations to Madigan Army Medical Center’s “Major Monteggia and Tense Compartments” who beat out 11 other teams to win EMRA’s MedWAR Oct. 4 at ACEP18. The Medical Wilderness Adventure Race (MedWAR) is a challenging 14-mile run that includes treating wounded “patients” along the route. Team members pack their own backpack with food, water and medical supplies anticipated for the competition. This year’s race was held at Cuyamaca Rancho State Park in Julian, Calif.

Back to Top

Yay Team!

WA-ACEP was honored with the “Teamwork Award” during the Council Meeting Sept. 29 in San Diego for our efforts to connect with state and federal stakeholders to improve the practice of emergency medicine both locally and nationally. Great work everyone!

Back to Top

Congratulations Dr. Steve Anderson

Stephen Anderson, MD, FACEP was elected Chairman of the ACEP Board of Directors Oct. 4 during ACEP18 in San Diego. Dr. Anderson is a Past WA-ACEP President and member of the ACEP Board of Directors. His busy ACEP18 schedule included auctioning off the honor of cutting his “tail” to the highest bidder at the Emergency Medicine Foundation (EMF) reception on the USS Midway in San Diego. WA-ACEP members pooled their resources and won the privilege. See a video of Steve’s haircut and make a donation to EMF to help the chapter pay for the trim.

Back to Top

Dr. Chris Kang, Past WA-ACEP President, Re-Elected to ACEP Board

The ACEP Council re-elected Past WA-ACEP President Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP, FAWM (second from left) Sept 30 at ACEP18 in San Diego. Also elected were L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP (Rhode Island, left); John T. Finnell, MD, FACEP, FACMI (Indiana, second from right); and Mark Rosenberg, DO, FACEP (incumbent, New Jersey, right).

Back to Top

Council Action at ACEP18

The 2018 ACEP Council represented 53 chapters, 37 ACEP sections of membership, the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association (EMRA), the Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine, the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors, and the Society of Academic Emergency Medicine. The Council adopted more than 40 resolutions, including several related to opioid use disorders. View a complete summary of resolutions.

Back to Top

Congratulations New Fellows

The following WA-ACEP members were recognized as ACEP Fellows at the President’s Gala during ACEP18 in San Diego.

Yasmeen Ansari, MD; Raul J Garcia-Rodriquez, DO; Ryan Gould, MD; Jeremy Hutchins, DO; Heemun Kwok, MD, MS; Samuel Lee, MD; Peter Woods McCahill, MD; Michael O’Brien-McGinty, MD; Robert Padilla, MD; Ann Rodgers, MD, MPH; Joshua Russell, MD; and Amber Sabbatini, MD.

Back to Top

Calendar of Events

2018 EM Leadership Summit
Nov. 14, 2018
The Conference Center at the Seattle Tacoma International Airport
Register Online

39th Annual Current Concepts in Emergency Care
Dec. 2-7, 2018
Maui, Hawaii
Learn more

WSMA Legislative Summit
Feb. 7, 2019
Olympia, WA
Learn more

2019 WA-ACEP Summit to Sound
April 3-5
Bell Harbor Conference Center
Seattle, WA

ACEP Leadership and Advocacy Conference
May 5-8, 2019
Washington, DC

Back to Top

New ACEP Policy Statements and Information Paper

During their June meeting, the ACEP Board of Directors approved the following new or revised policy statements: 

The Board also reviewed the information paper Emergency Department Physician Group Staffing Contract Transition (PDF)

Back to Top

Washington ACEP Board

Liam Yore, MD, FACEP
Cameron Buck, MD, FACEP
President Elect
Susan Stern, MD
Patrick Solari, MD, FACEP
Immediate Past President

Elizabeth Borock, MD
Jaime Delcampo, MD, FACEP
Herbie Duber, MD, MPH, FACEP
Josh Frank, MD, FACEP
Raul Garcia, DO, FACEP
Dan Getz, DO
Sarah Hansen, MD
Carl Heine, MD, FACEP
Catharine Ryan Keay, MD, FACEP
Gregg Miller, MD, FACEP
K Kay Moody, DO
Scott Osborn, MD, FACEP
Matt Sisk, MD
Brad Younggren, MD, FACEP

Stephen Anderson MD, FACEP
Past President (Non voting)
Enrique Enguidanos, MD, MBA, FACEP
Past President (Non voting)
Christopher Kang MD, FACEP
Past President (Non Voting)
John Matheson, MD, FACEP
Past President
Nathan Schlicher, MD, JD, MBA, FACEP
Past President (Non Voting)
Justin Grisham, DO
Resident Liaison
Rhadika “DeeDee” Souza, MD
Resident Liaison

2001 Sixth Avenue
Suite 2700
Seattle, WA 98121

(206) 441-9762 ext. 3038



You're receiving this newsletter because you are a member of the Washington Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Having trouble reading this email? View it on your browser. Not interested anymore? Unsubscribe Instantly. Be aware that unsubscribing from this email will remove you from all future WA/ACEP emailings, including notices of future conferences and WA/ACEP Dues.