Nancy Auer Meritorious Achievement Award

The Nancy Auer Meritorious Award recognizes WA-ACEP members who have gone above and beyond the norm in emergency medicine to improve the quality of patient care and support the efforts of the chapter.


Steve Marshall, MD, FACEP – 2019 Recipient


Dr. Steve Marshall has been highly involved in the Washington Chapter of ACEP and the emergency medicine community at large. he served effectively as president during the first balance billing fights and the early Medicaid fight, and through his 20 years as a medical director, has had a tremendously positive impact on our chapter.

Dr. Marshall has been an advocate for emergency patients and emergency care over his career. He served on the King County EMS and Trauma Committee, leading to policies against EMS diversion. He also worked on the WA DOH ED Opioid Workgroup that created ED Opioid Prescribing Guidelines. He is the Board Chair, Eastside Health Network a clinically integrated network representing >1,500 physicians. Dr. Marshall has also been an advocate for the democratic practice model of EM and was instrumental in bringing together six disparate independent groups into the Pacific Northwest Emergency Physicians collaborative. Dr. Marshall has worked on Medical malpractice, reviewing countless cases and assisting in the defense of many emergency physicians facing claims, and serving on the board of the Emergency Medicine Professional Assurance Company, a national professional liability carrier.



Previous Winners

2018 – Mickey Eisenberg, MD, FACEP
2017 – Kathleen Jobe, MD, FACEP
2016 – James Nania, MD, FACEP
2015 – Marv Wayne, MD, FACEP, FAAEM, FAHA
2013 – Ted Walkley, MD, FAAP, FACEP
2012 – Cindy Markus, MD, FACEP