Guardian of Emergency Medicine Award


To recognize physicians, nurses, legislators, other organizations, or individuals who have gone above and beyond the norm to protect the safety net of emergency medicine, improve the quality of patient care delivery, and work to support the efforts of WA ACEP.

Award Date

At the Summit to the Sound.


Annually if an appropriate recipient exists. Can be multiple awards depending upon the applications submitted.


The Legislative Affairs Committee shall review nominations submitted by membership, board members, or staff for recognition. A vote of the committee shall be done to recommend the award to the board of directors. The board of directors shall have final approval or denial authority.


Past Recipients

2019: Pauline Proulx, WA-ACEP Executive Director
2018: Katie Kolan, JD and Sean Graham, WSMA
2017: Washington Chapter, Emergency Nurses Association
2015: Carol Ostrom, The Seattle Times; and Sean Robinson, Tacoma News Tribune
2013: Tim Layton, JD, MPA and Susie Tracy
2012: The Honorable Eileen Cody; Stephen Anderson, MD, FACEP; and Nathan Schlicher, MD, JD, MBA, FACEP