Jobe Recognized During Summit to Sound

 Kathleen A. Jobe, MD, FACEP, received the 2017 Nancy Auer Meritorious Achievement Award April 28 during the Summit to Sound meeting. The award recognizes individuals who have gone above and beyond the norm in emergency medicine to improve the quality of patient care and support the efforts of the chapter. As a long-time member of the Washington State EMS and Trauma Council and a driving force behind the creation of the Cardiac and Stroke Trauma Action Committee, Dr. Jobe helped crystallized a statewide approach to the rapid identification and appropriate triage of cases. Her leadership impacted the state, our practice, and our patients.

Dr. Jobe is an attending physician in the University of Washington Medical Center’s Emergency Department (UWMC ED) and an associate professor of medicine in the Division of Emergency Medicine. She served as medical director of the UWMC ED from 2003-2011. She earned her bachelor’s degree at the University of Colorado, Boulder and her M.D. from the University of Colorado, Denver. She completed residency in internal medicine at University of Washington. She then worked as an attending physician in the Harborview ED. from 1989-1994, then moved to UW. She is a fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians and is a past-president of the Washington ACEP chapter.

She served as the chair of the Emergency Cardiac and Stroke TAC for the state of Washington from 2007-2014. She is the chief medical officer for WA1-DMAT and Deputy Regional CMO for Region X (WA, AK, ID, MT) for the National Disaster Medical System within the Department of Health and Human Services.

Previous winners of the Nancy Auer Award are Drs. Jim Narnia, MD, FACEP (2016); Marv Wayne, MD, FACEP, FAAEM, FAHA (2015); Ted Walkley, MD, FAAP, FACEP (2013); and Cindy Markus, MD, FACEP (2012).